Art, Current Events

Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson – A Book Review

jobs
Steve Jobs died 3 years ago today.

I had in mind to give my review of Steve’s official biography by Walter Isaacson and today seems like the right day to do that.*

I decided early in the Steve Jobs biography that I did not like him.

What was there to like? He abandoned his pregnant girlfriend and daughter, was a jerk to his parents and cried to get his way. He was a LSD freak in his younger days which, in my opinion, gave him that infamous bio-chemical personality – in other words he was a classic A-hole most of the time and he had no regard for how his A-hole-ness landed in the receiver’s universe. In fact, many times throughout the first 60% of the book I found myself saying out loud, “What an A-hole!” I almost stopped reading it a few times, but Walter Isaacson kept me on board by stringing changes of viewpoints with clever shifts in timeline which made the book interesting enough for me to stay with it.

I’m so glad I did because as the story unfolded, and I continued to learn of the life of Steve Jobs I became more and more enlightened on the subjects of business in general, the computer industry, Steve’s long-term love/hate relationship with Bill Gates, his affair with Joan Baez, his connection to Bill Clinton, his brotherhood with Steve Wozniak, and his wonderful wife and kids. But the most fascinating part was the person Steve Jobs evolved into.

Really.

Fascinating.

At the end I cried, and by the time I finally logged off my Kindle, I felt a deep love for the man who was nothing short of an innovative and creative artist who set out to change the world.

And actually did.

And in the end, as it turned out, he cared deeply for many.

I highly recommend Steve Jobs, by Walter Isaacson.

Christina Moss

http://www.ChristinaMoss.com

*I met a movie producer in July who suggested I read this book, so I did. (He also suggested I write a screen play for INTWINE. I insisted I couldn’t as I didn’t know how. He insisted I could because, as he put it, anyone who can write 300 page novels can and should write a screenplay. So I probably will — but that’s beside the point.)

Standard

2 thoughts on “Steve Jobs by Walter Isaacson – A Book Review

  1. A screenplay is another craft but not impossible to learn. However, you must be willing to “paint only what you see,” whereas the novel format allows you to expand beyond that. And the director, movie studio, unless you wrote it so well that they wouldn’t, are going to tear your screenplay apart and rework it over and over their way.
    The challenge, as I see it, though, is personal: what if you CAN write it so well that what ends up on the screen, is what you wanted there, because all those ‘changers” ended up agreeing with what you wrote in the first place? Are you up for that?

Leave a Reply

