Reviews

Saw AVATAR in IMAX

I really liked it!

I can appreciate the fact that James Cameron got to write, direct and partially produce his own story. There must be a lot of artistic freedom in that.

Movies are an interesting art form because so many different vectors have to come together in harmony. It’s nothing like painting or writing.

Writing novels is easy. I just sort go into solitary confinement and create whatever I want. There’s no one to disagree with me or argue with. If I don’t like the way something’s turning out, I go back and rewrite it. I can literally create an entire world in one day, and then change my mind and destroy it the next. It’s impossible to go over budget and there’s not one to challenge my choices. I can even kill off anyone I want without going to prison.

But truthfully I’m in awe of the movie industry. I think I’ll interview a famous actor and see if I can sit in on a movie being made.

© 2010 Christina Moss

Standard

3 thoughts on “Saw AVATAR in IMAX

  1. Christina, if you think writing novels is easy I admire your confidence. I barely have the courage to write blog posts.

    Glad you liked Avatar. I liked the LOOK of it, but found the story boring and predictable. However, I’m old and have seen about 100 thousand movies. If it’s the first time you’ve seen these ideas, it will be new and fun.

    I enjoyed reading your post.

    (I posted about Avatar, on-camera acting, and bad movies on my blog lately.)

    • Thanks for your comment. Yes, I really liked Avatar, but I didn’t love it. I liked the overall message as well as the fact that so many people are enamored with it. I see you’re point — it’s not a new message, but it’s one I can appreciate. I’m always blown away when one man has the power to reach so many people around the world. I know he didn’t do it alone but you know what I mean.

      Old? I couldn’t tell, your face is always covered. 🙂

      • It’s covered because I’m INVISIBLE. Without the bandages, you wouldn’t see anything.

        (Actually, my avatar is a crop of Claude Rains’ face from the 1933 film of HG Wells’ The Invisible Man. I love the films of James Whale, and I’ll write about them some day soon.)

Leave a Reply

